Pennock City Council Meeting Tuesday, January 7, 2025

Pennock City Council held their regular monthly meeting on Tuesday, January 7, 2025 at 7:00 p.m. at the Pennock Community Center. The following members were present Mayor Kevin Crowley, Council member Jeff Arends, Bruce Bastin, Lance Crowe and Shane Dillabough. Also present was Mark Johnson, maintenance employee Donavan Peters and resident Lindsey Crowe.

Mayor Crowley called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Newly elected Mayor Kevin Crowley (2 year term) and Council members Jeff Arends and Shane Dillabough (4 year term) and Lance Crowe (2 year term) were sworn into their official oath of office for the City of Pennock.

Motion by Council member Arends to accept the agenda as presented with the addition of a community sign; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. The motion passed.

Motion by Council member Bastin to approve the Consent Agenda which consisted of the December 3, 2024 Budget Review minutes and the December 3, 2024 Council minutes and to pay all the January claims; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

OPEN REPORTS AND DISCUSSION

Sheriff's Report – Deputy Dimler was not present for the sheriff's report.

OPEN FORUM

There was nothing.

OLD BUSINESS

There was nothing.

NEW BUSINESS

Appointments – Mayor Crowley presented the following appointments for office. Council member Dillabough made a motion to accept the following appointments; Council member Crowe seconds the motion. The motion passed. City Attorney - Brad Schmidt with Johnson, Moody, Schmidt, Kleinhuizen, & Zumwalt P.A. (JMSK & Z) Mayor – Kevin Crowley Deputy Mayor – Bruce Bastin Signers on Checks - Kevin Crowley or Bruce Bastin and Dawn Johnson City Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer - Dawn Johnson Licensed Water and Wastewater Operators - Donavan Peters and Dawn Johnson Water and Wastewater Maintenance – Donavan Peters Water and Wastewater Monthly/Yearly Reporting - Dawn Johnson Mowing – Donavan Peters Snowplowing – Kevin Krieger and Donavan Peters Fire Board – Kevin Crowley and Bruce Bastin Official Newspaper - Kerkhoven Banner Building Inspector/Zoning Administrator – Mike Jacobson Official Depository - Heritage Bank Personnel Directors – Bruce Bastin and Kevin Crowley West side of town – Council member Bruce Bastin East side of town – Council member Shane Dillabough South side of town – Council member Jeff Arends Park Mowers – Council member Lance Crowe

Residents are encouraged to contact these representatives with problems and concerns.

Out-of-State Travel Policy - The Employees and Elected Officials Out-of State Travel Policy was reviewed. Even though the city does not travel outside the State of Minnesota as per Minn. Stat. §471.661, it requires the City to have a policy in place. Council member Crowe made a motion to approve the Policy; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

Credit Card Policy - Council member Crowe made a motion to approve the Credit Card Policy for the City; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

Meter Readings - Council member Crowe made a motion to continue paying maintenance employee Peters and clerk Johnson an hour per day on weekends and holidays for reading the meters; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

Monthly Bills - Council member Crowe made a motion to give clerk Johnson permission to pay bills monthly that are not received prior to Council meetings to avoid late charges, Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

Safekeeping – Council member Crowe made a motion to accept the collateral pledge from Heritage Bank NA for excess deposits from Federal Home Bank and Champaign County Illinois Community Unit also to accept the safekeeping of the original pledge certificate at U.S. Bank Money Center; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed. *Fee Schedule* - Council member Crowe made a motion to adopt the Fee Schedule for 2025; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

Brush Site billing for Mamre Township and St. John's Township – Council member Crowe made a motion to bill Mamre Township and St. John's Township a yearly fee of \$300.00 for the use of the brush site; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

Community Center Fee for St. John's Township – Council member Crowe made a motion to bill St. John's Township \$35.00 per meeting for the use of the Community Center for their meetings; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

Earned sick and safe time (ESST) – Council member Crowe made a motion to front load 48 hours for Clerk Johnson and Maintenance Employee Peters; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

LMCIT Premium Option for Workers' Compensation Coverage – Motion by Council member Crowe to go with the Standard Premium; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed.

OTHER BUSINESS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

Clerk Johnson

• It was said that Building Inspector Mike Jacobson is going to be retiring in January 2026. Clerk Johnson presented information that she received from the City of Willmar for building inspections and information on how we currently pay Mike Jacobson. Mike presented the option to clerk Johnson that he would stay with the city if the city split the cost with the City of Kerkhoven for him to get relicensed. Council member Arends made a motion to approve paying the extra expense for Mike to get relicensed subject to City of Kerkhoven coming on board with us; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. The motion passed.

Mayor Crowley

• Brought up the idea of a community sign. There was discussion but no action was taken.

Regular Council meeting was closed at 7:44 p.m. to discuss clerk Johnson's wages.

CLOSED MEETING

Motion by council member Bastin to increase clerk Johnson's wages to \$33.00 per hour effective January 1, 2025; Council member Arends seconds the motion. The motion passed.

The regular council meeting was re-opened at 8:08 p.m.

Being no further business, Council member Bastin made a motion to adjourn the meeting; Council member Dillabough seconds the motion. The motion passed. Meeting was adjourned at 8:20 p.m. Official minutes will be approved at the next council meeting.

Dawn Johnson Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer